Veggie, Quinoa & Rosemary Bowls

Over the weekend we went to one of my close high school friend’s wedding, and I can honestly say it was one of the most fun weddings I’ve ever attended.  Complete with countless funny & heartfelt toasts (including one from the groom himself), a dance floor that was never less than packed, a flash mob, and midnight cheeseburgers, it was an entertaining and joyful celebration.

In an effort to  keep the positive energy going and send a shout out to one of my high school friends who requested a rosemary/quinoa dish :), I created a colorful summer meal that tasted delicious.  I firmly believe that eating a nutrient rich meal is the best way to boost your mood and get your body energized for a full week ahead.

quinoa, brussels sprouts, corn, peach, lemon, sweet onion, tempeh, cherries, feta cheese, avocado, rosemary & raw almonds

I loosely based elements of this dish from Barefoot Contessa’s How Easy is That? recipe for Chipotle Rosemary Roasted Nuts, and I loved the sweetness, heat and crunch that it brought to the meal.

Here is my version:

I combined raw almonds and chopped brussels sprouts on a cookie sheet with drizzles of olive oil and maple syrup, along with a handful of fresh rosemary, a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and sea salt.

I baked them at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, stirring once after 10 minutes.  I haven’t cooked much with rosemary in the past, but this flavor combination was scrumptious!

As the veggies were roasting I cooked 2 servings of quinoa, sauteed tempeh, boiled fresh corn, and made a simple lemon/avocado/yogurt dip.  Last, I chopped up a handful of cherries, a peach and about 1/3 of a sweet onion.

The aromas, colors and flavors really started to make us hungry, so I tossed it all together, added a little crumbled feta and we headed over to the park for a picnic.

Craig and I agreed that this is a summer dish worth repeating.  The mixture of roasted and raw fruits & veggies, the bright avocado dip on the side, and the base of nutty quinoa all made for a fresh and filling Sunday supper.

Here’s to a good week ahead!

3 thoughts on “Veggie, Quinoa & Rosemary Bowls

Leave a Reply

