Food for Life

Food is so much more than calories, grams of fat or points.  In the day-to-day moments of life I often forget that food is literally what makes us who we are.  It not only influences our physical health, mental health, mood, and physical appearance — it plays a defining role in all of these areas.  Just as you’d want the most rich, fertile soil and fresh clean water in order to grow healthy plants, our bodies require foods that will give us nutrients for life.  I don’t know about you, but I want to live life to the fullest in terms of having the most energy I can possibly have, the strongest, healthiest body possible, a positive outlook and many years of fun times ahead.

While out for a walk this weekend I stopped into Starbucks and settled on an iced decaf americano and a Two Moms in the Raw granola bar, which inspired this post.

While I’m often a sucker for coffee shop muffins, scones, cookies and anything else sweet, I was in the mood for something a little more substantial and this Raw Blueberry Granola Bar caught my eye.

This power packed treat included: Organic Almonds, Organic Pecans, Organic Walnuts, Organic Blueberries, Organic Agave, Organic Spices and Sea Salt.  Yum!

I enjoyed the bar so much that I decided to do a little research on Two Moms in the Raw, and as I read & watched their story I was inspired.  I strongly suggest watching this Today Show clip:Two Moms in the Raw

Here is their story, taken from the Two Moms in the Raw website:

 

 

In 2004, I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. After exploring all options, I found a natural approach to healing worked best for me. Food in its natural state without all the additives and pesticides is what the body needs to heal and feel good. As I continue on my personal journey to wellness I feel better each day and I know my diet has a lot to do with it. While exploring the raw lifestyle, I couldn’t find a tasty, satisfying treat to have on the run. After lots of experiments in the kitchen with other moms, I came up with these delicious Granolas and fantastic Sea Crackers.  Pretty soon all of my friends and family were ordering more than I could afford to give away.  As a result, I decided to start charging….and here we are today. From these wonderful beginnings we have benefited greatly and look forward to the future and sharing our Raw and Organic treats with you…the ones that we have already available and the many more we have yet to come up with.

Shari was diagnosed with MS, and it kept her from being able to hold her own child, walk and live life as she wanted to.  By changing her diet and her lifestyle she now has her MS under control.  Amazing!  Shari is not trying to convince everyone to go 100% raw (none of their products are cooked at a temperature higher than 108 degrees, which preserves many of the nutrients that would otherwise be lost).  She is, however, trying to empower people to think critically about what they put into their body, how it effects their health, and make the decision a little easier for people like me that pop into Starbucks for a quick treat!

Beyond eating this granola bar, I am inspired to be more conscious of my daily food choices.  Am I fueling myself with nutrients that make me healthier, or am I eating empty calories that keep me from being my best?  I think that this awareness is the first step towards true healthy living.

I would love to hear from you!  What’s your favorite quick but healthy snack?

9 thoughts on “Food for Life

  1. I have always been curious about those granola bars in Starbucks – I love the idea behind them and Shari’s story. So many stories about people reversing terrible diseases by diet! One question…how do you make yourself crave healthy things rather than unhealthy things….for example my favorite on the go snack is a sweet and salty bar from nature valley. Pretty sure those are pretending to be healthy but are full of sugar!

    • Good question! I think you should start by thinking about the flavors in those bars that you like… probably the combination of sweet & salty! Then brainstorm some snacks that might be able to satisfy those flavor cravings. I could see a combination of fresh or dried fruit and lightly salted nuts as a good alternative, or maybe homemade granola with plain yogurt and honey? Let me know what you try!

  2. I’ve loved the way I’ve felt this summer-I have had a green smoothie every day. It has also helped to wash all of my fruit and veggies as soon as I get home from the store. I can grab a bowl full of fresh snacks with out thinking. I’ve been able to hike just about every day too! It gets tough when I start teaching-but preping foods the night before really helps me make healthy fresh choices the next day. Great post-you are what you eat!

    • Hey Melissa! Thanks for reading & commenting! 🙂 I think you mentioned something important — the combination of eating fresh, clean foods AND being active. Each habit seems to make the other one a little easier.

  3. Love your blog, Jess! And I also love a handful of raw almonds for a quick snack. I can eat them in the 3-minute passing period at school, and they tide me over until lunch!

Leave a Reply

