Start to the Day

All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast.   John Gunther
I have to say that I kind of agree!  While most of my breakfasts are not extremely ‘leisurely,’ I think that my mindset for the day is greatly affected by my breakfast experience — how nutritious my meal is, how long I can spend enjoying it, etc.
Last night I decided to think ahead and prepare my Friday morning breakfast.  I was inspired by The Sister’s Palette‘s recent 4th of July dessert recipe, and I was determined to turn it into a healthy breakfast.
I simply layered rolled oats, ground flax seeds, Greek yogurt, fresh berries and cherries, a sprinkle of cinnamon,  and drizzle of maple syrup.
Last, I poured rice milk (you could use dairy, almond or soy milk instead) over the entire mixture.  I put the lid on the jar and left it in the fridge overnight.
The yogurt and milk helped the oats to soak and soften up, and all of the flavors started to blend together.  I was happy to see a beautiful, healthy breakfast all ready to go when I opened the refrigerator this morning!
This ended up being enough for 2 filling breakfasts, and Craig and I both felt optimistic and energized for the day!
Leave a Reply

