Smoothie for Your Face

Yep, a smoothie for your face!

I’m pretty low maintenance when it comes to my skin care routine.  I use local, handmade soap as my cleanser, a basic moisturizer with spf, and Bare Minerals makeup.  However, by the middle of summer, after time in the sun, exercising outside, and swimming in the lake, my face is crying out for some pampering.

Recently I came across a face mask recipe in Whole Living Magazine that called for plain yogurt, berries, honey & lemon juice.  All things that I have in my kitchen!

These ingredients could definitely be used in a yummy salad dressing or parfait, but in this case they act as a team to make your face it’s finest.

  • Plain Yogurt /  While I’m not a huge fan of dairy, I usually use about 1 small container of yogurt per week for sauces, smoothies, desserts, etc.  I was surprised to learn the benefits of yogurt in the form of skincare:
    • Moisturizing
    • Fights signs of aging
    • Relieves sunburn
  • Berries / There are so many beautiful berries available this time of year.  I don’t think it’s news to any of us that berries are antioxidant powerhouses, but who knew that they also help your skin glow?  Here are some of the benefits of strawberries on your skin:
    • Reduce dark circles under eyes
    • Help to shed dead skin cells
    • Promote clear skin
  • Honey / This ingredient wasn’t as much of a surprise to me.  For years my sister has used honey as face wash!  Honey not only tastes delicious, it also has some sweet benefits for your skin:
    • Naturally antibacterial
    • Moisturizing
    • Fights acne
  • Lemon Juice / I love thinking about the connections between using lemon juice to preserve fruit for days, and using lemon juice on your skin to keep environmental toxins from seeping in and causing harm.  In both cases, lemon juice protects and preserves.  Nature is awesome. 🙂  Lemons are beneficial to skin for a variety of reasons:
    • Extremely high in vitamin C (which is found in most high end skincare products)
    • Reduces scaring
    • Exfoliates skin

I simply blended these ingredients together.

I applied a thin layer of this fresh and flavorful face mask on my face and let it set for about 20 minutes.  Then I rinsed it off and inspected my noticeably softer, brighter skin.

While reading articles about the benefits of these ingredients on skin I found myself in awe — who knew that yogurt, berries, lemons and honey could make such an effective beauty product?  However, after giving this more thought, I started to wonder why this isn’t common sense — why should I be surprised that nature provides exactly what we need for every aspect of health?

I am thankful for nature’s ingredients and I’m curious to learn more about truly natural beauty recipes and products.  If you have any recipes or information that you’d like to share, please do!

 

Sources:http://www.infobarrel.com/Strawberry_benefits_for_the_skin; http://www.livestrong.com/article/296959-what-are-the-benefits-of-lemon-juice-on-the-skin/

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Smoothie for Your Face

  1. Pingback: Salad Dressing for your Hair | Daily Ingredients

  2. I have this on my face right NOW! A chunk of strawberry is dripping down my cheek, but I think that’s ok. I’m excited to see the results! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

