Switch Things Up

Within minutes of stepping outside today I felt like I was roasting.  Moxie felt the same way.

So when dinner time rolled around I had a couple of goals in mind:

  • I’ve heard that eating bitter greens can lower your body temperature. // Include some kale in our dinner.
  • We had eggs and a bunch of random veggies in the fridge that needed to be used. // Mix them in somehow.
  • We want to go for a walk and get stuff done around home tonight // Quick & easy meal.
  • Scrambled eggs, baked potatoes and salad all sounded boring. // Switch things up!

Ingredients:

micro greens, shredded brussels sprouts, sweet potato, eggs, red onion, red pepper, kale

Instead of baking our huge sweet potato (which we picked up at Growing Power’s Iron Street Farm on Saturday), I decided to switch things up and shred it.  I had never done that before, but it ended up being our favorite part of the meal!

Next, I added all of my shredded and chopped veggies to a pan & sauteed away.

At this point I added about 2 T soy sauce.  While my veggies were cooking I took in the view. 🙂

In an effort to use the eggs in a different way, I placed them right into the pan, on top of the veggies.

The eggs started to scramble into the veggies (similar to fried rice) and I knew that this was going to be a tasty dinner.  Moxie was intrigued.

I dished up two bowls of veggie hash and chopped up the red pepper.

I placed some micro greens on top, and Craig switched up our typical condiment selection and offered hot sauce.  Good choice!

These little veggie hash bowls were delicious, healthy, colorful and different!  We both went back for seconds, and we have some leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch.

When you feel like you are in a rut with your weekly meals, how do you switch things up?

3 thoughts on “Switch Things Up

    • It was so yummy! I used grape seed oil to saute, but you could use olive oil or coconut oil. We picked up the micro greens at Growing Power last weekend, but I think I’ve seen them at the OP Farmers Market too! Let me know if you give this a shot!

  1. YUM. I want to eat this right now, looks great Jess! If only I could make something as good with what is currently in our fridge….cheddar, pepperoni, jalapenos, cilantro, onion…ahh the joys of coming back from vacation and needing to food shop!

Leave a Reply

