Inspired by the Market :: Fruit + Veggie Challenge

Saturday morning I explored the Holland, MI farmers market.

Seeing so much beautiful produce was a reminder to me:  These foods should be the center of my diet.

This week, I’m challenging myself to be more conscious of what I put into my body.  Are the foods that I consume full or powerful nutritients — not just MACROnutrients (carbs, fats & proteins), but more importantly MICROnutrients (vitamins & minerals) and PHYTOnurtients (power-packed organic compounds in plants)?  This may seem technical or complicated, but it is actually quite basic:  foods that come from plants give you a better ‘bang for your buck’ when it comes to nutrient density.

The USDA recommends that we eat about 2.5 C of veggies and 2 C of fruit per day.  Sounds easy enough, but what does that look like, and what is a practical amount to eat in a day, and what does the research out there say about how much is enough?

Here’s my plan for the week:

  • Keep track of my fruits and veggies to help focus on eating more
  • Read (and post links to) articles related to daily intake of fruits & veggies
  • Engage with YOU!  Send me your ideas/questions/etc. and let’s do this together. 🙂

Here are some snapshots of the fruits + veggies I enjoyed today (this does not include other food I ate):

Since I’m curious if I meet the daily recommendations, I’ve added it all up:

Fruit:

1/2 C blueberries (on toast)
1/2 C banana (on toast)
1/4 C apple (on sandwich)
1/2 C mango (in smoothie)
1/2 C mixed frozen berries (in smoothie)
1/2 C tomato (in salad)

Total: 2.75 C Fruit (USDA recommendations: 2 C)

Veggies:

1/4 C pepper (on sandwich)
1/4 C spinach (on sandwich)
2 C kale (in smoothie)
1/2 C cucumber (in smoothie)
1/2 C carrot (with hummus)
1 C romaine (salad)
1/8 C onion (salad)
1/4 C cauliflower (salad)
1/4 C broccoli (salad)
1/8 C pepper (salad)

Total: 4.75 C veggies  (USDA recommendations: 2.5 C)

I’m not sure if I’m going to add this all up every day this week, but I noticed that just by being more conscious of my desire to pack in as many fruits + veggies as possible, I ate more!

Now, a little food for thought:  Doctors Write a Prescription for Fresh Produce

Cheers to a delicious week ahead!

7 thoughts on “Inspired by the Market :: Fruit + Veggie Challenge

  1. Jess, these pictures are GREAT!! So professional. And way to be the teacher’s pet going over your fruit and veggie recommended daily intake! Today so far I had 2 stalks of kale, 1 banana, 1/2 an avocado (in Tina’s smoothie! Hi Tina!)

  2. You are so inspiring! It may seem like a small thing, but I love how you always take a fun spin on making salads. I often think they have to be mostly greens, but your bowl-o-goodness looks great! I’ve been counting up my fruits and veggies today and I’m thankful that juice/smoothies pack them in!

  3. Pingback: Burger Time and Fruits + Veggies Day 2 | Daily Ingredients

Leave a Reply

