Burger Time and Fruits + Veggies Day 2

Summertime = burger time, right?  Even for two mostly vegetarians with no grill, we crave a good burger just like the best of ’em. 🙂

Tonight I was inspired by Kris Carr‘s Black Bean Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers (recipe can be found here).  As always, I very loosely followed the recipe.

Fixins:

I roasted the sweet potatoes and cauliflower,

cooked the couscous, sauteed onion and garlic, mashed the black beans,

mixed it all together, and formed patties.  I dredged them in cornmeal, browned them in a pan, and then baked them for about 15 minutes.

While those were baking, I threw together a refreshing salad as a topping for these veggie burgers.

As I was chopping, Craig got home and surprised me with the happiest of happy hour drinks!

Yum!

Back to chopping up the veggies, and just to show you that Moxie is the best sous chef ever:

Once the burgers (and corn on the cob) were done, we fixed our plates and headed to the park!

I love summertime!

Day 2 of my Fruit + Veggie Challenge went well!  I’m convinced that just being more conscious of how much produce I eat throughout the day causes me to eat more of the good stuff and less of the not-as-good stuff.

Fruit:

1/2 C peach (with breakfast)
1/2 C mango (after work snack)
1/4 C tomatoes (in salad)
1 C banana (soft serve fruit)
1/4 C mango (soft serve fruit)

Total: 2.25 C fruit

Veggies:

2 C mixed veggies (lunch salad)
1 C sweet potato (in burger)
1/8 C cauliflower (in burger)
1 C mixed veggies (dinner salad)

Total: 4.25 C veggies

Food for thought: Me, Give Up Meat?  This article highlights the reasons why plant based eating has become so popular.  I appreciate that it includes both the pros and the cons, and I’m curious to hear what you think!

 

One thought on “Burger Time and Fruits + Veggies Day 2

Leave a Reply

