Past Its Prime

Fresh fruits and veggies, especially from the farmers’ market, are beautiful and inspire me to cook.  Their rich colors and funky shapes always put me in a good mood, and I love when our kitchen is full of seasonal produce!

Several days after taking my weekly finds home, placing them in my favorite fruit colander and bowls, and creating a couple of seasonal dishes, they start to lose a bit of their appeal.

As the once perfect blueberries look like they are on the verge of needing to be replaced, I’m less and less likely to add them to my breakfast plate or dinner salad.  I think it is mostly the texture that gets to me, and I’m always brainstorming ways to use up my overripe fruits & veggies.

While smoothies are an easy option for using up produce, this fruit & yogurt combination is quick and convenient to take to work/school.  I simply pureed 1/2 container of blueberries (I used an immersion blender) with about 1 T maple syrup.  The smooth texture is more appealing to me than the slightly wrinkled/squishy whole berries, and the flavor is still fresh and bright.

I added 1/8 C raw cashews and this became the perfect post workout mini meal.  It would also work well to pack in a jar for lunch on the go or a mid-morning snack!

1 container greek yogurt (or any other kind of unsweetened yogurt)
1 cup overripe fruit
1 T maple syrup (or honey)
1/8 C nuts (granola would be yummy too)

——
Puree fruit & maple syrup
Combine all ingredients!

What’s your favorite way to use produce that’s past its prime?

Grateful Giveaway Update: 

  • Thank you so much for the thoughtful comments!  I’ve made a list of topics that I’ll make an effort to incorporate into my future posts, and I really appreciate the feedback and suggestions.

  • $35 has been donated to OPRF Food Pantry, and because they are able to purchase $10 worth of food for every dollar, this means that $350 worth of food will be distributed to the community because of your comments.  So, thank you!

  • Also, I used a random number generator, and Katie D. was the giveaway winner!  Her grocery gift card is in the mail.  Happy cooking, Katie! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Past Its Prime

  1. Jess, What an inspiration you are!

    I’ve matched your donation plus – a great way to leverage your dollars!

    Love, Barb (BB)

Leave a Reply

