Tasty Tostadas

Last night I was walking out of the gym and heading into Trader Joe’s when I received an email on my phone from Pinch of Yum, a blog that I love for both it’s recipes and inspiring stories.  I was really hungry, and their post about black bean tostadas sounded like a perfect dinner.

I picked up a few things from Trader Joe’s, walked home and started cooking.  I used the recipe as a starting point, but as always I loosely followed it — using some ingredients that we had on hand and tweaking it to suit our tastes.

First, I turned on the broiler and put some corn tortillas on a wire rack.

Instead of pureeing the black beans for a topping, I simply drained a can of black beans and added sauteed onions, jalapenos and a bit of greek yogurt.  This was scrumptious on its own!  I also shredded a few pieces of romaine as an additional topping.

The tortillas baked for about 3 minutes on each side, just until they started to get golden brown and bubble up.

They deflated pretty quickly after coming out of the oven, and they were the perfect base for all of our toppings!  We placed the black bean mixture on first, followed by guacamole, Rach‘s peach salsa, shredded romaine and a little bit of greek yogurt.

These tostadas were quick, easy and healthy.  We loved them!

Does anyone out there know of other tasty tostada recipes?  I think I’m hooked!

8 thoughts on “Tasty Tostadas

Leave a Reply

