Cooking Class Frittata

I love cooking classes — weather I’m learning from a professional chef at a farmers’ market cooking demo, or enjoying the luxury of a class at Flavour Cooking School, there is something inspiring about watching a confident cook and trying to pick up a few tricks of the trade.  A couple of months ago I discovered free, in-home cooking classes from world-class chefs and some bonus tips from nutrition and style experts: The Chew (ok, it’s really just a TV show).

(image source)

We don’t have a TV, but we do have an iPad.  And on that iPad we have the ABC app, which means that I can watch The Chew at night.  I love relaxing in the evening and learning some tips and techniques while I watch!  Throughout the entire show the hosts cook and discuss the latest in food and nutrition.  I have picked up so many cooking tips from The Chew!

Recently they featured a frittata recipe that looked delicious, and although it contained cream and prosciutto I was more interested in the techniques used than the actual ingredients:

  • saute veggies
  • add eggs and cook lightly for 2-3 minutes
  • transfer to 350 degree oven to finish cooking

So, here is my version:

frittata ingredients: eggs, rice milk, onion, carrots, broccoli, sea salt
red pepper sauce: red pepper, tofu, rice milk, olive oil + lemon juice (not pictured)
topping: avodaco

First, I sauteed the veggies.

While those were cooking I beat 4 eggs and about 1/2 C rice milk.  I added a pinch of salt at this point.

Next, I added the egg mixture to the veggies and reduced the heat.

After cooking for about 3 minutes, I transferred the pan into the oven for 10 minutes, until the eggs were set.  While the frittata was cooking, I whipped up a red pepper sauce with red pepper, tofu, a bit of milk, olive oil and lemon juice.  If you’re not a tofu fan, you could add cheese instead.

I pureed these ingredients with my immersion blender, and while I don’t feel like I’ve totally perfected this sauce, it came together pretty well!

At this point Moxie and I relaxed in the kitchen, waiting for the frittata to finish.

Once the frittata was done, the meal was ready to go!

While I’d love to go to expensive cooking classes on a regular basis, it isn’t going to happen. 🙂  Luckily, there are a variety of ways to find cooking inspiration that don’t cost a dime.  Check out a cooking magazine from your library, watch a fun cooking show that motivates you to cook (and not just sit on the couch!), and learn from those around you.

We topped our frittata with a drizzle of red pepper sauce and a few slices of avocado.  Yum!

What gives you cooking inspiration?  Please share!

Leave a Reply

