DIY Kitchen Storage

I am a big believer that aesthetics matter. I have a hard time enjoying dinner at a restaurant that lacks creative decor, and I’ve been having a tough time cooking in my cluttered kitchen!

I love so many things about our kitchen, but I’m not a big fan of the counter-top clutter. My designer mom suggested a small piece of furniture that could serve as storage for some of our appliances and could provide a cookbook shelf, and we have one wall of our kitchen with just a bit of room!

Any piece of furniture would need to be not-too-deep, large enough for appliances, and able to fit in with our eclectic (random) style.

Here are a few examples of storage tables/buffets that I thought might work:

(source)

(source)

I considered a few pieces but didn’t love the prices, so I decided to just be on the lookout for a good deal.

Last night, while out for a run, I came across a little old door on the side of the road. I brought it home, wiped it off & started brainstorming.

I would love to take this cute little door and turn it into a combination of these pieces:

(source)

(source)

(source)

These 3 images don’t have a ton in common, but I’d love to somehow:

  • create a table with the door as the table top
  • have functional storage underneath (possibly with milk crates or storage baskets)
  • incorporate some fun colors like that funky blue

For now, here’s where we’re at:

What do you think?

I would love to hear your ideas and suggestions!

10 thoughts on “DIY Kitchen Storage

  1. LOOOVE IT! I pretty sure (by the looks of her face in that last picture) that the Moxinator wants to help you brainstorm. As a non-DIY type, I love seeing your brainstorming process! Can’t wait to see the final product in your already adorable place.

  2. I love that idea! I think you need to check out IKEA… just there tonight and they have various things on casters and table legs you can buy separately. Or you could take the expedit, turn it on it\’s side, add casters… or you should just look for a an old dresser on craigslist, paint it, add the door on top! If the door isn\’t flat maybe you could add glass— I might have an extra piece at work, text me the dimensions and I\’ll check next week if you\’re interested.

  3. Great ideas from Abbi! What about getting one of those short book cases from Ikea that have cubes instead of shelves (like Baird has in her nursery) and spray painting the baskets blue and then using cut glass on the top of the door like Abbi said, and putting the whole thing on wheels so its easy to use? Fun to think about!

Leave a Reply

