Trying to Bag It

After hearing about it from some good friends, we decided to watch Bag It.

(source)

Here is the film’s description (taken from their website):

Bag It has been garnering awards at film festivals across the nation. What started as a documentary about plastic bags evolved into a wholesale investigation into plastics and their effect on our waterways, oceans, and even our bodies.

(source)

If you haven’t seen this documentary, you should!  It is eye-opening, humorous, humiliating and inspiring.  Although I knew before that certain types of plastic have been linked to cancer (so we ditched our old water bottles with BPA), and in the back of my mind I knew that it was silly to buy food in tons of packaging, and it does seem crazy that plastic is everywhere when it used to be nowhere, I thought that by using my reusable grocery bags at Trader Joe’s every week I was doing my part. Not so much.  After watching Bag It, Craig and I looked around our condo in disgust — we are surrounded by plastic!  From all of the bottles in our shower, to most containers in our medicine cabinet, to many packages in our kitchen, to the coffee cups that we purchase on a regular basis, the list goes on and on.

To keep myself from getting overwhelmed or going overboard, I always try to strike a balance.  With healthy eating I aim to consume nutritious food most of the time, but I also don’t obsess over it.  So, instead of freaking out about the plastic bubble we live in, I decided to come up with a couple of goals:

1. Use a reusable coffee mug whenever possible.  Why have I not done this consistently before?  Mostly because I get lazy and forget to bring it with me.  That is a horrible excuse and I’m going to try my darnedest to change.

2. Go through some of my daily products (from cleaning supplies to food products like honey and olive oil) and figure out what I buy over and over again (with a new package each time) that I could instead buy in bulk.  I’m also scheming a little bulk party to get other people in on this fun, so if you live in Oak Park or the Chicago area and are interested, leave a comment!

That’s it for now.  I think that goal number one could make a big difference for my little life, and goal number two gets me excited about changing some of our daily habits.  We’ll see where this leads!

What are your tips for doing a better job at not just recycling, but more importantly reducing & reusing?

9 thoughts on “Trying to Bag It

  1. I’m in for the bulk party! What are we making?! Also, does this movie make you consider the benefits of CostCo where you can buy very large quantities….?

    • I’m going to send out an email — but I’ve been considering homemade laundry detergent, possibly some bulk local honey for people to take home in old honey containers or jars, and maybe something like homemade shampoo (along with a bunch of other ideas)! Yes, it did make me think about CostCo. In a perfect world it would be great to get local products without all the packaging, which I don’t think you can find at CostCo.

  2. Pingback: Bulk Party | Daily Ingredients

Leave a Reply

