Caulifower, Spinach & Smoked Gouda Soup

During a conversation with my friend Katie, she mentioned that her mom had recently made ‘the most delicious soup ever.’  I asked her to hunt down the recipe for this cauliflower, spinach & smoked gouda soup, and a couple of days later it popped into my inbox:

6 Cups Cauliflower florets
1 Quart Chicken broth
1/2 cup minced red onion
5 Ounces bagged baby spinach leaves
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 Teaspoon pepper
8 0z shredded smoked Gouda Cheese
1 cup heavy whipping cream
 
In slow cooker combine first 7 ingredients.  Make sure the spinach leaves are covered pretty well in the broth or they will dry out instead of cook.  Cook for about 6 hours on low til cauliflower is tender.  Then use your stick blender to blend  or blend small amounts at a time in a blender.  Return to cooker and add cheese and cream.  Stir till melted and blended together.
 
Enjoy!!!!
 I made a few modifications to the recipe:
Instead of 1 qt chicken broth, I used about 2 C veggie broth and the rest water.
Instead of whipping cream, I used 1 C soy milk.
Throughout the day I had most of the ingredients in the slow cooker.
About 10 minutes before dinner, the veggies were thoroughly cooked & ready to be blended with my immersion blender.
I blended it until it was perfectly smooth, but I think it would also be good with some pieces of veggies left whole.
Next, I grated my smoked gouda cheese in my food processor.  I think that this is the key flavor ingredient!
The recipe called for cream, but I stirred in soy milk to add a little creaminess to the soup.
I always love fresh avocado on hot soup, so I added a few slices to top off the finished product!
We also dipped in some everything pretzel thins (yum) for a little crunch.
This soup was the perfect combination of healthy and indulgent, creamy with a bit of a kick, and totally satisfying without being too rich.  I’d highly recommend it for dinner in this chilly fall weather!
10 thoughts on “Caulifower, Spinach & Smoked Gouda Soup

  1. Jess, I feel very special that my soup recipe made your blog. Your pictures make it look especially wonderful. I have to apologize for leaving out one ingredient in the recipe. it also calls for 4 garlic cloves minced to be added to the crock pot.

  2. Jess, I have all ingredients in my fridge as we speak and am looking forward to turning the crock pot on just before bed tonight. Will be wonderful to wake up to fresh soup in the morning!

  3. Hi Jess!
    I didn’t know you have a blog, found it through a facebook chain. I hope things are good with you! I will try this recipe, it sounds awesome! And perfect for a weeknight fast dinner!
    Kate

Leave a Reply

