Bulk Party

After watching Bag It a few weeks ago, I came up with a couple of goals for myself:

1. Use a reusable coffee mug whenever possible.

2. Go through some of my daily products (from cleaning supplies to food products like honey and olive oil) and figure out what I buy over and over again (with a new package each time) that I could instead buy in bulk.

Switching over to using a reusable mug has been pretty easy, and I can’t believe it took me so long to make that simple change.  Going through daily products and trying to come up with ways to cut down the waste was a bit more of a challenge, but I had fun brainstorming creative solutions.  For many products (laundry detergent, all purpose cleaner, etc.), I knew that there are homemade recipes using simple, natural bulk ingredients, but I wasn’t real excited about have huge quantities of those ingredients in our little condo!

I came up with the idea for a bulk party — kind of like a book club, but instead of discussing a book, a group of friends can get together, divide up bulk food and household products, and cut out a lot of the packaging and additives along the way.  I came up with a simple list of products, sent an email around to some friends in the area, and last night we had our first bulk party!

Since we put everything else into mason jars, I figured drinks should be served in jars too!

I don’t claim to be an expert at all of this, but I’m learning as I go.  I tested out a few recipes, and came up with the following products for us to divide up or mix up last night:

  • laundry detergent
  • local honey
  • trail mix ingredients
  • coconut shampoo
  • dishwasher detergent
  • all-purpose cleaner

Everyone brought jars from home, took as much or as little as they wanted, and I think we all enjoyed socializing as much as mixing up the various concoctions.  It was a fun night!

I also went through a bunch of magazines that I was getting ready to recycle, and I decided to put out recipes that others might be interested in.

In the midst of a busy work week, it was so nice to spend an evening hanging out with friends, doing something productive together and hopefully creating a new type of get-together.  We’ll see!

If you live in the Oak Park or Chicago area and would like to attend the next bulk party, leave a comment!

Happy weekend!

6 thoughts on “Bulk Party

  1. Pingback: Bulk Party | GreenBlog by Green Home Experts

Leave a Reply

