Raw Brussels Sprout & Avocado Salad

While reading Whole Living Magazine last week I found a recipe that I couldn’t wait to try – Raw Brussels Sprout & Avocado Salad with Toasted Pumpkin Seeds.  Yum!

I simply pulled the leaves off, tossed in a diced avocado and about 3T of toasted pumpkin seeds.  I dressed the salad with a homemade honey mustard vinaigrette, and we enjoyed this as a side with my mom’s veggie lasagna.

Eating raw brussels sprouts takes a little getting used to, but I really loved the flavors and textures of this salad!

If you are afraid of raw brussels sprouts (you shouldn’t be!), you could either shred them in a food processor to create a more fine texture, or you could roast them and make this into a hot salad (I want to try that!), or you could try a different green.  My favorite flavor combination in this salad was the crunchy pumpkin seeds and creamy avocado — I will be mixing those two ingredients again!

2 thoughts on “Raw Brussels Sprout & Avocado Salad

  1. Jess, I love the raw brussel sprout recipe. I have a salad recipe which calls for blanching the leaves in boiling water and they turn a rich, bright green color. I love to add them to a mixed green salad and nobody even knows they are there but what a wonderful nutritional addition. Can’t wait to try your recipe!! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

