Kitchen Sink Lunch

When Katie called on Saturday and said that she was 45 minutes away, I scrounged up some ingredients that I thought might fit together for lunch and started cookin’!

She was in town for a bachelorette party, and while we could’ve gone out for lunch, I figured we might both appreciate a cheaper, homemade, more low-key lunch.

My game plan for lunch was a simple green salad with a bunch of flavorful toppings.

First, I cooked up some couscous with coconut milk instead of water. So easy and so delicious!

While that was cooking, I cut a couple spicy tortillas into strips and baked them in the oven. I already had a loaf of pumpkin bread baking in there, so I figured why not throw something else in?!

In an effort to add a little protein, I hard boiled 2 eggs and toasted some pecans with honey.

Moxie is my sous chef.

I also sliced a sweet potato into thin rounds and sauteed them in olive oil. Within 20 minutes each component of the lunch was ready to go. I dressed the salad with olive oil/honey/dijon mustard, piled the rest of the toppings onto the plate, and pulled the pumpkin bread out of the oven.

It’s always amazing to me how I can look in my refrigerator and cabinets and think, “nothing here. Better go out to eat!” If I take the time to brainstorm a meal and put a little work into creating it, I usually end up loving the results and appreciating that I didn’t waste the food that we had on hand.

Another benefit of eating lunch at home? It totally justifies going out for breakfast. 🙂

Thanks for coming to visit, Katie! We loved spending the weekend with you!

3 thoughts on “Kitchen Sink Lunch

    • Hey Susan! I just sliced the sweet potato into really thin rounds and then sauteed them in olive oil for about 5 minutes on each side. I left the lid on the pan to try to keep the moisture in. It worked! At the end I added a drizzle of honey, a little sea salt, and a dash of cinnamon, but that’s totally optional!

  1. Best. Lunch. Ever!! I keep thinking about how delicious it was! Thank you again for your creativity and continued inspiration in the kitchen! Thanks again for a great weekend! I love you!

Leave a Reply

