Turmeric Time

If I knew of a magic pill that could fight cancer, decrease inflammation, prevent Alzheimer’s, help with digestion and lead to better heart health, I’d take it!  If that magic pill came in the form of a delicious spice that could also make meals tastier, I’d eat it.

Hello, Turmeric!

I’ve always heard great things about this spice, but tonight was my first time cooking with it.  I did a little research and found that turmeric goes well with butternut squash – an ingredient that I was hoping to use at some point this week.

I simply cut the squash in half, scooped out the seeds, and baked it (with the orange part facing down, in a baking pan with about 1/2 inch of water) at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.

Meanwhile I mixed about 2 T turmeric, 2 T garlic powder, and 1 t sea salt.

After it cooked for 45 minutes, I removed the squash from the oven.  I placed them upside down on a baking sheet, and I made a paste out of the spice mixture and olive oil, which I spread on top of the squash.

I then placed the squash back into the oven for 10-15 minutes.

We had this turmeric butternut squash as our main dish, with greens and potstickers (love them!) as sides.  It was delicious!  I wasn’t sure what we would think about the turmeric, but we both loved it.  It has an earthy, mildly spicy flavor that went really well with the butternut squash.

I love that this colorful, flavorful, interesting spice has so many amazing health benefits.  We will be adding turmeric to more of our meals!

I also love the packaging on Penzey’s Spices.

What’s your favorite turmeric recipe?

One thought on “Turmeric Time

Leave a comment