Thinking Ahead & Colorful Quinoa Salad

One of my best strategies for avoiding a case of the Sunday night blues is to think ahead for the week.  Besides finishing up laundry (thank you, Craig!), answering a few work emails, and getting in some exercise, it always makes me feel good to cook a big batch of good food that we can use for lunches and dinner sides throughout the week.  A couple of hours in the kitchen on Sunday night can make the rest of the week significantly more enjoyable!  And if you’re like me, a couple of hours in the kitchen is pretty enjoyable to begin with.

My goal was to create a healthy, filling salad that Craig and I could eat for lunch throughout the week.  Here’s what I came up with:

Black beans – dried beans from the bulk section, so I rinsed them and then cooked them for about 1.5 hrs

Diced sweet potatoes – roasted with olive oil, chili powder and garlic until slightly crispy

Quinoa – rinsed and cooked with a pinch of sea salt

Sauteed veggies – I bought a bag of frozen corn, edamame and red pepper and added a little garlic and olive oil.

Fresh cilantro

Red cabbage

Homemade dressing – pureed olive oil, balsamic vinegar, fresh cilantro, lime juice and honey

All of these ingredients were easy to make and full of flavor.

I simply tossed them all together!

This is my dream meal.  It looks like our condo. 🙂  Lots of colors and textures, a little random, but full of things we love.

We enjoyed a little last night & packed up the rest for lunches.

You could make this with any grains, beans & veggies that you have on hand.  Prepare each component of the salad, mix it together, and add a little store bought or homemade dressing.  Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Thinking Ahead & Colorful Quinoa Salad

  1. Yummy! I tried a similar recipe of yours last summer that I still dream about because it was so good. You gave me all the ingredients in a mason jar and one day I got brave and put it together. It was delicious!

  2. Pingback: Veggie Burritos | Daily Ingredients

Leave a Reply

