Color and Flavor from Plenty

Last night we had company for dinner.  Craig’s brother was in town for work, and since he loves unique flavors I decided to try out a couple of new recipes.  Craig gave me this beautiful cookbook for my birthday:

plenty-book

I spent the weekend reading through the recipes and drooling over the colorful photos, and I finally decided on Roasted Vegetables with Caper Vinaigrette.

This recipe was pretty easy and so delicious.  First, roast vegetables (parsnips, sweet potatoes, red onion, a whole head of garlic, cherry tomatoes) with thyme and olive oil.

DSC05000

The recipe called for a head of garlic, halved and placed in the roasting pan with the other ingredients.  This was quick and added lots of flavor!

DSC05015

While the veggies roasted, I threw together the caper vinaigrette.

DSC05004

The dressing – also from Plenty – was an interesting mix of capers, maple syrup, lemon juice, olive oil and dijon mustard (I forgot to include this in the photo).  If you like capers you will love this dressing.  I think it made the dish!

DSC05017

The veggies roasted for about 50 minutes total.  I first cooked the parsnips, onion, garlic and thyme for 20 minutes, then added the sweet potatoes, and with a few minutes left I tossed in the tomatoes.  The thyme was a new ingredient for me and it gave the veggies such great flavor.  Our condo smelled delicious!

DSC05018

I served the roasted veggies with a flavorful green couscous salad that was also from Plenty.  I’ll write more about that tomorrow!

DSC05019

Somehow I didn’t get a picture of Craig and his brother, but I did snap a picture of Moxie trying to get in on the dinner conversation. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Color and Flavor from Plenty

  1. Pingback: Green Couscous from Plenty | Daily Ingredients

Leave a Reply

