Souper Simple with a Kick

Tonight’s dinner was not fancy, but it served 2 purposes:

1. filled me up

2. cleaned out the fridge

By Thursday night I’m ready for a pretty clean fridge.  Once the weekend hits it bugs me to have any leftovers or soggy produce lingering.  Because of this, many Thursday night dinners are kind of a mishmash of whatever I want to use up before it goes bad.

Tonight I simply placed all of my close-to-going-bad veggies (spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, garlic, and tomatoes) in a pot with 4 cups veggie broth, 1/2 can of coconut milk, and 1 cup red lentils.  I cooked it for about 30 minutes, pureed it a bit with my immersion blender, and topped it with toasted bread.

The secret ingredient to this meal was the most delicious olive oil I’ve ever tasted (thanks, Bets!):

DSC05030

I brushed a little of this Fustini’s spicy oil on whole grain bread before toasting it under the broiler.  These homemade croutons were the perfect topper to my veggie soup!

DSC05032

Is it the weekend yet?!

Leave a Reply

