Burnt Eggplant

Yes, I burnt the eggplant… but I was supposed to!

DSC05060

Inspired by another Plenty recipe, I made a fun Sunday supper last night with some unique ingredients.

First things first, I put a couple of slits in a medium sized eggplant and baked it under the broiler for an hour — until the skin was completely black and burnt.  Yum, right? 😉  The cool thing is that once the eggplant is burnt on the outside, the inside is soft, smokey, and totally full of flavor.  I’m not usually a huge fan of eggplant, but this was delicious!

While the eggplant was cooking burning, I sautéed lentils and a jar of homemade canned tomatoes (remember my canning adventure?!)

DSC05054  DSC05056

It was really fun to cook with homemade canned vegetables.  I clearly remember getting those veggies from local farmers at the Oak Park Farmers market not too long ago!

Once the eggplant was done, I cut it in half, scooped out the inside, and drained it in a sieve for about 15 minutes.  While the liquid was draining, I roasted a pan full of green beans, carrots, thyme, olive oil, sea salt, garlic and honey.

DSC05057

I added about 2 T of balsamic vinegar to the lentils, and 1/2 T to the roasted veggies.  This brightened up the whole meal!

Last, I stacked each plate with lentils, roasted veggies, eggplant, and a tiny bit of greek yogurt (you could use a non-dairy sour creme or yogurt).

DSC05068

About 5 minutes after we started, I realized I forgot the parsley.  It was a great addition, but I think it’s a good sign that the dish wasn’t lacking flavor without it!

DSC05058

We enjoyed this nourishing meal next to our cute little Christmas tree.

DSC05066

Where is your favorite place to enjoy dinner at home?

One thought on “Burnt Eggplant

  1. Pingback: Holiday Dip | Daily Ingredients

Leave a Reply

