Christmas Gift: Cookie Mix Jars

I’m not a huge Pinterest person, but every once in a while it’s fun to look at all the recipe, craft, decorating and style ideas.  One of my frustrations with Pinterest is that sometimes it seems like well photographed projects get pinned over and over again, but I’m not always sure how trustworthy the instructions are.  I’m here to tell you that I completed a project after being inspired on Pinterest, and I it turned out well!

DSC05144

I saw some cookie mix jars on Pinterest, but I Googled a bit to find a recipe with tons of positive reviews (over 500!) — I didn’t want to risk giving a not-so-good gift.  I finally decided on this recipe, and Tina agreed to be my cookie-mix-making partner.  We made 24 jars, so we bought our ingredients in bulk.  Below is the recipe for a 1 liter jar:

DSC05147

Cranberry Pecan White Chocolate Chip Cookie Jar Mix (taken from allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:
5/8 cup all-purpose flour (we used a mixture of white and wheat)
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour (mixture of white and wheat)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup white sugar
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup white chocolate chips (we used white & milk chocolate)
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Directions:

1.  Layer the ingredients in a jar.

2. Attach a recipe with the following instructions:

Beat 1 egg, 1/2 C soft butter and 1 t vanilla.
Add jar contents.
Refrigerate for an hour or overnight. *I added this step, but I think it helped the cookies to hold their shape!
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Grease cookie sheet.
Form cookies.
Bake for 8-10 minutes.

DSC05148

We used scraps of fabric to make the jars look a little more fun, and I’m planning to tie some bright ribbon around the top as well.  This was a fun project to work on, and the results were not only cute but also delicious!  I made a batch of the cookies and they are really good!

Are you making any homemade, edible gifts for the holidays?  Please share!

One thought on “Christmas Gift: Cookie Mix Jars

Leave a Reply

