January Format

I’ve never been a big New Year’s resolution person — dieting for a year or giving up chocolate has never seemed appealing or feasible.  However, I do like a fresh start, a chance to de-clutter and reorganize, and an incentive to come up with attainable goals.  I have a hard time picturing what I’ll be doing a year from now, but I work better with short-term goals and projects.  All this to say, I’m going to try a new, more organized and hopefully more helpful format for the blog over the next month.

DSC05258

The next four weeks I will focus on specific ingredients — how they can boost our health, the best way to pick them out and prepare them, and a couple of recipes highlighting each ingredient.  Below is an outline of what you can expect each week:

Day 1: Ingredient Overview & Basic Prep (ingredients & recipes will include grains, beans, produce and dressings/sauces)
Day 2: Recipe #1 
Day 3: Recipe #2
I might add another post at the end of the week about something unrelated to the given ingredient – just for fun. 🙂

If you would like to add some healthy ingredients into your cooking repertoire for 2013, or if you’re eager to learn a variety of basic cooking techniques and recipes, I hope you’ll join me!

And now here’s one Christmas picture of my cute nephews in their new aprons preparing some delicious fake food!

DSC05224

Cheers to 2013 and healthy cooking!

4 thoughts on “January Format

  1. Jess, I hope your mom has told you how much I love your blog!!!! I have even told my brother and sister-in-law to look into it. They are vegetarian and are having a hard time finding the time to cook and stay healthy. They have both put on quite a bit of weight this last year, (their words not mine) and they want to eat healthier in the new year. They are big Trader Joe customers, so I know they will find plenty to like on your blog. I tried your cauliflower spinach soup and we loved it. I am going to make it again this week. Thank you so much for all of your fun ideas. I love them!!! Happy New Year, Lynn

  2. Pingback: Daily Ingredient: Millet | Daily Ingredients

Leave a Reply

